Häxan concert 31.10.15 mix 1

  • Yati Durant (Creator)



This is the complete 2 hour performance of a spontaneous composition concert in the Reid Concert Hall on 31st October 2015 to the film Häxan (1922) by Benjamin Christensen with a score by Yati Durant. The ensemble was made of Richard Worth - flute, Julia Lungu - violin, Jilly Mathews - harp, Magdalena Durant - voice, Armin Sturm - contrabass, Christian Svalesen - trumpet and electronics and Yati Durant - trumpet and electronics. The composition was made of sets of compositional "fragments" that the musicians could use in sequence with rehearsed instrumental "decisions" during the performance. The methods used for this performance were a variation of Method 2 “Look first at the film in its entirety, with or without sound, create and study preparatory material together, such as a cue sheet. Then talk about how it will be played and establish limitations ahead of the first try. Then play and talk about the outcome.” and Method 4 "Don't rehearse at all and play at first sight in the performance." All of the instruments were amplified and had each of their signals feed back to the electronics for real-time processing. The electronics used were: Electron Machindrum SPS-1UW+, Korg MS-20 Mini and SQ1, Korg Volca, iPad running Samplr app, Ableton Live, Korg Kaoss pad and Kaosillator through ZVex.

Data Citation

Durant, Yati. (2017). Häxan concert 31.10.15 mix 1, 2015 [moving image]. University of Edinburgh. http://dx.doi.org/10.7488/ds/2040.
Date made available4 May 2017
PublisherEdinburgh DataShare
Temporal coverage31 Oct 2015 - 31 Oct 2015

Cite this