Shortlisted paper for the 2022 Graham Cogley Award

Prize: Other distinctions


The Graham Cogley Award was established in 2019 in memory of Professor Graham Cogley. It was initiated and is generously sponsored by the Cogley family and is shared between the International Glaciological Society IGS and the International Association of Cryospheric Sciences IACS, with the IGS and the IACS giving out the award in alternate years.

Graham Cogley made substantial and enduring contributions to glaciology, in particular to the understanding and quantification of glacier mass change. For more information about the award, find out more here.

From 123 student-authored papers in the Journal of Glaciology and Annals of Glaciology eligible for the 2022 Graham Cogley Award, thirteen papers have been shortlisted from six countries including Recinos et al. 2021, see full citation below.

Recinos B, Maussion F, Noël B, Möller M, Marzeion B (2021). Calibration of a frontal ablation parameterisation applied to Greenland’s peripheral calving glaciers. Journal of Glaciology 67 (266),1177–1189.
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting OrganisationsInternational Association of Cryospheric Sciences and International Glaciological Society


  • Glaciology
  • calving glaciers
  • numerical modelling