The Mark A. Roglán Award

Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)


Claudia Hopkins is the recipient of the inaugural Mark A. Roglán Publication Award from The Custard Institute at the Meadows Museum, for the exhibition catalogue 'Romantic Spain. David Roberts and Genaro Pérez Villaamil' (2021).The award is named for the late director of the Meadows Museum, Mark A. Roglán, an eminent museum professional and art historian whose field of specialization was Spanish art of the modern period and its collecting history. Each year, the award honors a single distinguished publication. Publications eligible for the inaugural 2023 award must bear an imprint date from 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2022. Subsequent awards will be presented annually and recognize publications from the previous calendar year. This award, in the amount of $2,500, recognizes exemplary scholarship on Spanish art from 1820 to 1920.
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting OrganisationsThe Custard Institute at the Meadows Museum, Dallas


  • Romanticism
  • David Roberts
  • Genaro Pérez Villaamil
  • landscape painting
  • cultural nationalism
  • Spanish art
  • British art