The Fiction of Robin Jenkins: Some Kind of Grace

Linden Bicket, Douglas Gifford (Editor)

Research output: Book/ReportBook

Abstract / Description of output

The Fiction of Robin Jenkins is the first ever volume of essays dedicated to Robin Jenkins (1912-2005), hailed by Andrew Marr as ‘the best-kept secret in Modern British Literature’, and by the Scotsman in 2000 as ‘the greatest living fiction-writer in Scotland […] the Scottish Thomas Hardy’. This new study of Jenkins includes essays across his entire, astonishingly varied body of work. It includes provocative new readings of a range of thematic issues by established experts on Jenkins and on Scottish Literature more broadly. This volume also includes chapters dedicated to individual novels in Jenkins’s corpus, including his best-known work, The Cone-Gatherers, as well as The Changeling, Fergus Lamont, and his posthumous novel, The Pearl Fishers.
Original languageEnglish
Number of pages280
ISBN (Electronic)9789004342491
ISBN (Print)9789004337046
Publication statusPublished - Apr 2017

Publication series

NameScottish Cultural Review of Language and Literature

Keywords / Materials (for Non-textual outputs)

  • Scottish
  • fiction
  • novels
  • ethics


Dive into the research topics of 'The Fiction of Robin Jenkins: Some Kind of Grace'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this